Beach Body Readiness

Beach Bodies Are Made In Winter; Santa Didn’t Leave Me One…

Beach bodies are made in winter, great statement right?

6752d434af7cc4254a62c219b10dc83d

Wrong (my opinion) I totally get where the quote is coming from yes you have to work hard all year round for a good body but do they not know Christmas is in winter and that statistics show most people put on weight over the holiday season, this motivation quote doesn’t quite cut it for me.

Beach bodies are made a longggggg time before summer, hmm possibly not as catchy but it’s more honest. With that being said summer is just around the corner here in Australia which means days at the beach surrounded by tanned beautiful bodies in the tiniest bikinis.

Sounds daunting right? You’re not wrong!

VS+Angels+Beach+X0iwCrRx79bl

Looking at my body this time last summer its very different to my body this summer (well coming into summer) last year I was much thinner but this year I have more curves and more muscle aka a bigger booty.

12074666_998047436882978_3640043579108944409_n

With this weekend set to be a scorcher and an extra day off for me due to the public holiday there is no doubt that I will be hitting the beach.

Looking at my Instagram feed one would think that I am more than confident in my skin but the reality is that I am not as confident as you think, I don’t think most people are to be honest everyone has their little body hang ups.

The way you see your body, really see it can affect your confidence in an amazing uplifting way or a soul crushing way, we as humans are our own worse enemies at times.

We are the first to put ourselves down or to point out our own flaws.

7483700e3198790dbb91ececcce5f9ee

Have you ever received a complement from someone?

‘Oh you look great in that in that dress’

Only to reply:

Oh god no I am stuck in this it’s the only thing I could find’

We do it daily we play ourselves down; we think the worst of ourselves.

What we say out loud and in our heads about our bodies and ourselves really have an impact on our confidence and our relationship with our bodies whether you think it does or not.

If you call yourself something repeatedly or think it for that fact you’ll start to believe it, it will start to become your reality.

I could look at my body now compared to last summer and say allsorts but it’s taken me a long time to accept my body, I believe that healthy more so than skinny is the way forward.

I eat accordingly, my diets full of nutritional foods as well as the odd biscuit. I work out 5 times a week, maybe I will substitute some h.i.i.t training for some yoga or maybe I will sit on the couch and read my latest novel and totally skip the training.

I can be a fitness advocate and be honest, human and a balanced person before I use to think being a fitness advocate I had to be 10% body fat consistently (which made me miserable) this is far from the truth being me and being honest as a mum juggling life, work, health and my passion for fitness is honest representation of my fitness and a lot of other women’s too.

be-true-to-yourself

I think its hugely important for girls to appreciate their bodies instead of picking out things you hate highlight the parts you love!

Dress for your body, this is hugely important!

There is nothing more unflattering then bad fitting clothing on anyone, and I never understand it clothes will look well on anybody if they are bought in the RIGHT SIZE.

ill-fitting

Underwear, choose the correct type of underwear for your outfits and for your body.

There is no point in buying tiny knickers that dig in and give you a very unattractive overhang please get the bigger size, who will notice?  Nobody, that’s who!

Bras if sized wrong can give dreadful double boobs or the hated back boob look, it’s free to get sized in either boutique underwear stores or in some bigger department stores so take full advantage.

26D7613F00000578-3000486-Danger_Up_to_80_per_cent_of_women_are_wearing_the_wrong_size_bra-a-19_1426863425588ill-fitting

Try things on, I am a huge fan of online shopping half my wardrobe has been ordered from the web so I usually can’t complete this step although it is super important.

Something may look good standing up in a well-lighted dressing room but you don’t live your life standing up dead straight, bend down twist around, stretch up, sit down and see how it looks and feels. Yeah it’s great that you look fab standing up but if it’s seriously unflattering while sitting rule it out!

article-2004984-0C9B6C9900000578-763_224x598

Know your shape, knowing what flatters your body shape is such a key element for nailing clothes look at Kim K for example bodycon is her thing and she owns it then look at Katie Wilcox flowy and chilled are her key styles both women I feel have banging bodies and both dress them completely different, to suit their body shapes and style.

kim-kardashian-behind-main

Kim Kardashian, Kris Jenner, Kylie Jenner, Kourtney Kardashian and Kendall Jenner leaving their hotel to film their show in NYC. Pictured: Kim Kardashian, Kris Jenner and Kendall Jenner Ref: SPL791485 270614 Picture by: Ron Asadorian / Splash News Splash News and Pictures Los Angeles:310-821-2666 New York: 212-619-2666 London: 870-934-2666 photodesk@splashnews.com

tumblr_nul0quCC1n1u6paz0o1_500249888610a59f677c509d9a953baf912

Go away form this post and think about the parts of your body YOU love, parts that you think are your best assets. Appreciate them, dress to enhance them or hid them your choice but know your body is amazing, have confidence in yourself.