Staying Social On A Health Buzz

Hey Guys!

As were rounding up the end of January I’ve noticed a few people finishing their ‘Dry January’ early (no judgement) I think it’s great that so many people take part even if it’s not for the entire month!

I came across a talking segment I think on fm104 although I am not 100%, It was about how a girl felt she was being bullied by her friends because of her sobriety during the month of January which angered a lot of listeners, myself included!

It brought me back to my own social life and how not drinking can be awkward for others, why I don’t know but people do tend to take offense to my choice of a mock-tail instead of the real thing…

‘are you not drinking’ ‘are you really not having a drink’ ‘I can’t believe your not drinking’

All lines I get multiple times a night when I go out, it’s the same with healthy eating.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-9361-1429155005-15_preview

Going out for food with friends weather that be breakfast, lunch or dinner can get so awkward, I am a great believer in life that true friends won’t judge you so if you fiend your pals judging you, making sly comments or making you feel awkward I think you should find new friends!

I still remember the ‘eye rolls’ and ‘bitchy smirks’ a couple of my ‘friends’ use to make whenever I ordered a coffee instead of a milkshake or a salad instead of a burger, if you find yourself in similar situations you really should reevaluate your company.

unhealthy_food

If you find yourself  pressured to dig into something that you’ll regret later here are some helpful tips to stick to your health buzz when out and about dining.

Ask for it your way 

Sounds simple right? But most people would rather eat rare steak when they asked for well done rather than complaining to the waiter. For instance, if an item is fried, ask for it grilled. If it comes with french fries, ask for a side of veggies instead. Ask for a smaller portion of the meat and a larger portion of the salad; for salad instead of coleslaw; baked potato instead of fried.

Read between the lines

Any menu description that uses the words creamy, breaded, crisp, sauced, or stuffed is likely loaded with hidden fats, much of it saturated or even trans fats. Other “beware of” words include: buttery, sautéed, pan-fried, au gratin, Thermidor, Newburg, Parmesan, cheese sauce, scallope.

sardi-cafe-melbourne

Skip the fancy drinks

I always recommend the drink of choice for your dinner to be water but if you must order an alcoholic drink, forget the margaritas, piña coladas, and other exotic mixed drinks. They include sugary additions that only add calories. Opt instead for a glass of wine, a light beer, a vodka and tonic or a simple martini (without the chocolate liquor, sour green or apple schnapps).

Drink water throughout the meal

It will slow you down, help you enjoy the food more, and let the message get to your brain that you’re full—before your plate is empty.

Check out the menu online beforehand

Most restaurants have their menu posted on their website. Perusing the online menu before you go will give you extra time to make an educated, healthy choice.

03-22-12-Couple-reading-menus-in-restaurant

Couple reading menus in restaurant

Hopefully these tips will be able to make your next restaurant trip more straight forward and remember its good to eat a bit of everything in moderation so if your hearts bleeding for the chocolate desert go for it! Just stick to the salad next time 🙂