Protein Powder? Where Do I Start?

Hey Guys!

Happy Monday! I always feel my most motivated on a Monday, a fresh new week full of opportunities! Start as you mean to go on and all that!

Today I am talking about protein powder, well more precisely I am talking about what protein powder you should be using. Now before I start this is not a sponsored post nor will I be mentioning any brands in particular I am just going to give you some inside advice to make sure you can pick the right protein powder for you.

I often get asked by women in particular ‘which protein powder should I get?’ and with so many different brands and names on the market it’s very easy to see what all the confusion is about! Of course you could pop into your local supplement store but (and I don’t want to paint everybody with the same brush here) I often find in ‘most’ supplement stores if you the customer don’t know what you need unfortunately the employee will push you towards buying what ever they make the most commission off or whatever their employer has asked them to push, I have found this through first hand experience in many supplement stores, so to cut that out I want to give you some advice on protein powders.

Women seem to have a lot more choice in the market as well when it comes to protein powders there is definitely a larger market for ‘women’s protein powders’ compared to the market targeted at men. Fat burning protein powders, toning protein, ladies dream protein, slim protein… the list goes on so it’s no wonder were all left feeling that little bit more confused!

choosing-the-best-protein-powder

But what if we stripped off the wrapping, stopped the marketing and see the product for what it is – ingredients.

Why are men’s protein powders different? Are they unisex? Should I buy a protein powder or a fat burner or save money and buy an all in one?

Well, for starters the reason there is an association with ‘mens’ proteins and ‘womens’ proteins are the breakdowns of ingredients behind the marketing.

Typically a high carb ‘bulking’ type protein are aimed and targeted at men, as a lot of women would dream of having 500g of carbs in 1 shake.

(I could go on and on about the fact that bulker gainers are a poor way of gaining additional ‘bulk’ as the bulk gained will most likely be fat rather than muscle, but that’s another story, and I will do another post on this alone.)

Women’s protein powders usually have a lower carb breakdown, but why the tiny containers are HUGE price tag in comparison to the ‘male’ low carb protein? Marketing that’s why.

You are NOT going to start growing hair on your chest by choosing to have a unsiex (or ‘male’) protein powder. The price comparison is huge- almost 4 times the amount in a lot of cases!

what-are-the-best-pre-workout-supplements-for-women

So what should you look for when deciding on a protein?

In my opinion, I look for a pure high protein protein with as little additives, sugars, fillers, carbs, fats as possible.

If I wanted carbs, I would prefer to eat a whole food rather than drink them in 2 minutes.

Don’t get fooled by marketing and advertising, or the guys at the supplement store, go by facts and the ingredients list.

Usually protein powders that have the ‘well known’ fitness models on the packet, or fancy packaging are more expensive, as they simply have to pay for their marketing.

When searching for a protein:

-Ensure the protein is at least 75% protein (the rest is fillers) This is around 29gs of protein per serve

-Ensure that the fillers are as minimal as possible

-I prefer WPI (whey protein isolate) rather than a WPC (whey protein concentrate) or a blend

-Taste, yes ask around, there should be no problem in receiving a free sample, however be cautious as almost everyone in the fitness industry is sponsored.

-Ensure fats and carbs are minimal, as you would rather eat these in forms of food for example rice, almonds, avocado etc

Protein-Powder.jpg

So those are my top tips on how to chose the best protein powder for you, I hope this helps as I am asked this question quite often.

As always love & positivity

Nicole X Cautious 2 Confident Fitness