Dairy Free?

Hey Guys!

I hope you’re all well! Today’s post is all about dairy! I often get asked about dairy in general weather its great for your health terrible for your health or to be taken in moderation.

Those of you who have followed my blog for a while will know that my son suffers with a lot of allergies one of which is to dairy, since he was born he has had no dairy in his diet he went from having severe eczema and in constant pain to now being anaphylatic  to all dairy (meaning his air passage ways will swell up and close if he ingests anything with dairy in it). Due to this milk isn’t really something I need in my life anymore saying that I will have a bar of chocolate with dairy in it or if I am treating myself to a Starbucks hot chocolate I will get cow milk in it but as I don’t drink regular tea or eat ice cream etc for the most of it I am dairy free, and often find that when I do take dairy my body doesn’t process it well anymore.

There are many conflicting arguments concerning dairy in our diets so I have included more information on why I am not all sold on dairy.

milk_and_dairy_foods_105_x

  • Humans are the only species that actually go back to drinking milk after being weaned off.We not only go back to drinking our own species of milk, but also turn to an animal- usually a cow for milk.
  • Dairy may cause numerous allergy-based infections from ear infections, respiratory or gastrointestinal and skin symptoms (my son’s eczema). Anyone who suffers from these is recommended to have a strict 2-3 month dairy free period to see if symptoms ease. (-Dr Michael Greger)
  • Most milk comes from pregnant cows; therefore carry a lot more estrogen to your diet. Estrogen is another story in itself, I recommend you research it.
  • The cows are often fed antibiotics, engineered hormones, pesticides and other chemicals, that flow directly to…you guessed it, your milk. Did you know, unintentional pesticide poisonings kill an estimated 355,000 people globally each year?
  •  The biochemical make-up of cow’s milk is perfectly suited to turn a 65-pound newborn calf into a 400-pound cow in one year. It contains, for example, three times more protein and seven times more mineral content while human milk has 10 times as much essential fatty acids, three times as much selenium, and half the calcium. Some may like cow’s milk but drinking it is both unnecessary and potentially harmful.
  • Milk is actually a poor source for dietary calcium. Humans, like cows, get all the calcium they need from plants within your diet.
  • It is still widely accepted that the calcium in dairy products will strengthen our bones and help prevent osteoporosis, but studies show that foods originating from animal sources (like milk) make the blood acidic. When this occurs, the blood leeches calcium from the bones to increase alkalinity. While this works wonders for the pH balance of your blood, it sets your calcium-depleted bones up for osteoporosis.
  • The average adult will consume approx 2 glasses of milk per day (coffees, smoothies, yogurts etc) this is 300 calories vs. 0 calories of water that your body actually needs for digestion, complexion and bodily function.

cow

I hope this has given you some insight into dairy in the diet, always remember that it is important to do your own research for your own diet.

Follow me on my other networks to keep up to date:)

https://www.instagram.com/cautious.2.confident.fitness/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7yL72x0W3XqK8RNUfIQbvg

Snapchat – nicolesiobhanod

As always love and positivity

Nicole X Cautious 2 Confident Fitness

 

 

Leave a Reply

